I’ve known for quite some time that I love pretty things. That is why I love movies, art and design. Lately I have come to realize that there is more to it. Each time I find something I love, like a movie or a book, I wish to share it. I suppose that is normal, but I have noticed a more selfish motive to do so as well. When sharing things I love, it is a little bit like I watch it for the first time as well.

Anyhow, it gave me a good excuse to watch Heaven once again last night, and oh, it was splendid once again. This time I kept the biggest pet peeve of one of the Contramime directors in my mind, and realized why the acting is that perfect: The worst enemies of good acting are overacting and explaining. In the movie they do neither. Heaven is very restrained, and that is what makes it great.

Nevertheless there are very many people who hate the movie. I suppose it is caused by idiom. Most movies follow a specific set of rules. Rules about music, rules about emotions, even rules about sex-scenes. Heaven breaks all of them, the music is minimal, the emotions and acting are closer to theatre, than to other movies, the action is tuned away, and the sex-scene is shot from a long distance. For people who just love movies, this idiom is too foreign to encompass. For people who love art, the idiom of the movie is what makes it outstanding.

Yeah, sharing is great; let’s do it again.

