What?
All the Tenenbaum children were child prodigies in their own ways. Now they have grown up into very troubled people. Now the family is coming together because the father, Royal Tenenbaum has announced that he has cancer.

Where?
At home

With?
On my own

Why?
I was discussing with a former colleague, Alex how I was doing this movie project and that I had revisited The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, an old favorite. She told me that that film never did much for her and that she prefers The Royal Tenenbaums, so I figured it was time to revisit this film too.

Worth it?
The main strength of The Royal Tenenbaums is that it has an amazing comedy cast that hardly ever jokes around. Their strong comedic timing is always around, and manages to make pretty sad situations actually funny. Also the set and costume design is amazing, and Wes Anderson is doing the thing that he is really good at: he is portraying dysfunctional families. Nevertheless, for some reason I feel much less of a connection with this film, than with The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, that still reigns supreme in my humble opinion.

7/10

