Movie: Another year

What is it about? The film follows a happily married 50-60-ish couple over the span of a year and the interactions with some of the people that drop by in their house.

Passes the Bechdel test? Yes, by a wide margin, although I was so enjoying the movie that I barely paid any attention to things like this.

Did I like it? This film is beautiful, sad, warm, uncomfortable at the same time. I don’t really know what to tell about it, as the story doesn’t matter as much as the feelings it evoked in me I think.

This film has a lot of love for the main characters in the story, even the sad ones, and this is really a film that gets me thinking about what I hope and what I fear. I hope that one day I will be a friend like the leading couple Tom and Gerri, and have friends like them. At the same time Mary seems like a personification of my existential fear that somehow I will end up old and alone and a stern reminder to never start drinking.

As a 30-something’s guy the story of their son makes me think that somehow there still is hope for me too.

Final verdict: This is a beautiful, sad film that made me think. A well deserved 8/10